315 129th Street South, Tacoma, WA 98444 | (253) 298-3000

IT Team Review

IT Team Reviews

2019

June 2019

End-of-year Reminders 

The end of the school year is coming quickly. Here are some housekeeping reminders from Information Technology (IT):
  • If you are leaving the district, please return all technology including, but not limited to, laptops, iPads (James Sales and Assistive Technology) and cell phones (including power cables and accessories) to IT no later than Monday, June 24.  
  • If you have a desktop computer and/or external monitors, please submit a work order indicating that you will be leaving the district. 
  • If you are returning to the district next year, you may take your laptop home with you.  Just remember it is your responsibility per the Technology Acceptance Agreement that you signed. 
  • If you choose not to take your laptop home with you, please bring it to IT for safe storage over the summer. 
  • Document cameras, microphones and remotes: Please leave them in the classroom 
  • Classroom phones: The phone stays with the classroom; please do not unplug the phone or move it.  If you would like the phone in a different location for next year, please submit a detailed work order. 
  • If you have a district-issued cell phone but do not work during the summer please also turn in your cell phone to your building or department Office Manager for safe keeping over the summer. 
Frequently asked questions: 
Q:  Can I change where my desktop(s) are located in the classroom? 
A:  Please do not move them yourself.  A work order needs to be submitted so that IT can move the computers, if feasible (dependent on power, network connection, and space). 

Q: I am changing classrooms/schools, what do I do with my technology? 
A: You may take your laptop with you.  All other equipment stays with the classroom.   

Q: I am changing classrooms/schools, what will my phone extension be? 
A: If you are staying in the same building, but you are moving to a different classroom, your phone extension will stay the same.  IT will be working with the Office Managers on all room moves and will take care of switching the phone numbers to the new classroom.  Please do not move the phone.  

If you are changing schools/locations completely, you will receive a new phone extension for that school/location.  Once again do not take your phone with you. 

If you are returning equipment, the IT Office is located at 11807 24th Ave E.  Until the end of school, we will be open from 7:30AM-4PM, Monday - Friday.  Once summer starts, we will be open from 7:00AM-3:30PM, Monday - Friday.  If you have any questions please call x4647.  

Have a great summer, and we look forward to seeing everyone during the 2019-2020 school year! 

Tips to protect your account from being compromised!

Create a strong password that: 
  • Uses a Password Phrase – Having a password phrase makes it easier for you to remember your password without making it easier for somebody to guess or hack. 
  • Does not contain your user name or real name.
  • Does not contain personal information, such as birth dates, names of family members, or pets.
  • Contains uppercase letters, lowercase letters, numerals, or symbols. 
  • Is significantly different than previous passwords.
  • Don’t share your password – You are responsible for what happens under your username and password.
  • Do not write your passwords down        

Beware of Phishing attempts!
  • All emails that do not originate from Franklin Pierce School District will have the following note added to the top of the email as a reminder:  “This email originated from outside of Franklin Pierce Schools.” Depending on the format of the email the reminder may not always be highlighted.
  • The note is to help you identify emails that may not be from a trusted source and to exercise caution.
  • Do not click on attachments or links in emails from unknown senders. If you are unsure of the sender’s email address or its content, please contact the Help Desk at ext. 1234 for assistance.
  • Do not reply to emails or attached documents that ask you to submit your username and password. 

Microsoft Office Suite Trainings for June
  • Are you wanting to brush up on your Outlook skills?
  • Outlook Basics / Intermediate: Thursday, June 6th from 4:35 - 5:35 PM in the District Office C-View Room
  • Outlook Advanced: Thursday, June 20th from 4:35 - 5:35 PM in the District Office Board Room
  • Enroll today through the IT Website / MS Office Suite Training / Onsite Training Tab
  • Enrollment for the training will be checked at 3:30 PM the day of the scheduled training.  If there is no one enrolled for the training, it will be canceled.  Please make sure you are enrolling for onsite classes.
  • If you attend an onsite training, please bring a laptop.  If you do not have a district laptop, please submit an IT Work Order 48-hours before the training to have a laptop provided. 
  • Want to brush up on some of your Microsoft Office skills this summer?  You can always complete the Online Microsoft Trainings.  The online trainings cover basic thru advanced courses in Excel, Word, Outlook, Publisher, PowerPoint, and OneNote.

Improved Technology Approval Form
  • A revised technology approval form is now live in DORA in the Staff Technology Resources folder
  • The form is now an Informed K12 document and will automatically be routed through the process
  •  Remember if there is a piece of new technology, software or website that you would like to use, please fill out the Technology Software/Hardware Approval form before use
  • IT and Teaching and Learning are working on an updated software list that will be searchable

June Technology Advisory Committee (TAC) Meeting

The Technology Advisory Committee (TAC) is made up of staff from around the district.  The TAC meets monthly to review the district’s progress towards the adopted technology goals, provide input on technology initiatives and pilots and act as an ambassador to promote the positive aspects of technology within their buildings.

The last meeting of the year will be on Wednesday, June  12th from 4:30-6pm, in the Franklin Pierce High School Corrigan Room.  All are welcome to attend.  

May 2019

Reminders from IT!

  • Do not click on attachments or links in emails from unknown senders.  If you are unsure of the sender's email address or its content, please contact the Help Desk at ext. 1234 for assistance.
  • All emails that originate from outside of the district will have the following note added to the top of the email as a reminder: "This email originated from outside of Franklin Pierce Schools.  Do not click links or open attachments unless you recognize the sender and know the content is safe."
  • Do not share your computer or Skyward logins with others
  • If you have a substitute, the main office can assist the substitute with gaining access to your classes in Skyward through the substitutes account
  • If you are in a clerical position and will have a substitute, please work with the main office to submit a work order to have the substitute granted the access that they need in Skyward

Updating Skyward password via DORA:

  1. From DORA, right click on the Skyward App
  2. Select Update Password
  3. From the Extension Locker-Skyward Screen, click Edit
  4. Under Credentials, click on the "eye" icon next to password to confirm the most recent password is in place
  5. Remove the previous password, update the password to the new one and click Save

Improved Technology Approval Form

  • A revised technology approval form is now live in DORA in the Staff Technology Resources folder
  • The form is now an Informed K12 document and will automatically be routed through the process
  • Remember if there is a piece of new technology, software or website that you would like to use, please fill out the Technology Software/Hardware Approval form before use
  • IT and Teaching and Learning are working on an updated software list that will be searchable

Microsoft Office Suite Trainings for May

  • Are you wanting to brush up on your Publisher skills?
  • Publisher Basics: Thursday, May 2nd from 4:35 - 5:35 PM in the District Office C-View Room
  • Publisher Intermediate: Thursday, May 16th from 4:35 - 5:35 PM in the District Office C-View Room
  • Publisher Advanced: Thursday, May 30th from 4:35 - 5:35 PM in the District Office Board Room
  • Enroll today through the IT Website / MS Office Suite Training / Onsite Training Tab
  • Enrollment for the training will be checked at 3:30 PM the day of the scheduled training.  If there is no one enrolled for the training, it will be canceled.  Please make sure you are enrolling for onsite classes.
  • If you attend an onsite training, please bring a laptop.  If you do not have a district laptop, please submit an IT Work Order 48-hours before the training to have a laptop provided. 

April 2019

Securing your technology over Spring Break!

  • It is the staff member's responsibility to take appropriate precautions to prevent damage or loss/theft of their laptop, tablet, and other technology equipment
  • Store technology equipment in a secure cabinet, drawer, storage cart or learning wall cabinet and ensure that the storage is locked
  • If you do not have a way to lock up your technology please turn it into the main office during Spring Break
  • Do not leave your technology equipment sitting in a car
  • Be mindful of food or drink around your equipment
  • Do not place anything heavy on the equipment.  The screen can be easily cracked/damaged

Thank you for making the OneDrive transition go smoothly!

IT would like to take a moment to say thank you to each of you for making the transition to OneDrive such a smooth process.  We could not have done this transition without you

Microsoft Office Suite Trainings for April

  • Are you wanting to brush up on your Advanced Microsoft Word skills?
  • Word Advanced: Thursday, April 18th from 4:35 - 5:35 PM in Franklin Pierce High School's Corrigan Room
  • Enroll today through the IT Website / MS Office Suite Training / Onsite Training Tab
  • Enrollment for the training will be checked at 3:30 PM the day of the scheduled training.  If there is no one enrolled for the training, it will be canceled.  Please make sure you are enrolling for onsite classes.
  • If you attend an onsite training, please bring a laptop.  If you do not have a district laptop, please submit an IT Work Order 48-hours before the training to have a laptop provided. 

SBAC Testing reminders from the techs

  • Before the first day of testing making sure to open the WA Secure Browser to verify that it is working
  • Before each student starts a test make sure the computer has been restarted
  • The Common "Tech" Issues During Testing document also has useful information
  • When calling the help desk, please be prepared to provide this information:
    • Does the student have a valid testing ticket
    • What is the student's ID number?
    • What is the Asset Number of the computer?
    • What is the exact error that the student is getting?
  • Don't forget to plug in all computers in the charging cart at the end of each day and that the laptops are charging.  If your cart has a charging button, make sure you press the button.

Software Center 

  • Did you know that there is a Software Center where you can access and download some of the district approved software?  
  • If you do not have an icon on your desktop, you can search Software Center.    
  • Once you find a program, you want to download put a check mark next to the program and click install in the bottom right.

March 2019

Microsoft Office Suite Trainings for March

  • Are you wanting to brush up on your Microsoft Word skills?
  • In March IT will be offering two on-site trainings on Microsoft Word
  • Word Basics: Thursday, March 14th from 4:35-5:35 PM in the District Office Board Room
  • Word Intermediate: Thursday, March 28th from 4:35-5:35 PM in Franklin Pierce High School’s Corrigan Room
  • Enroll today through the IT Website / MS Office Suite Training / Onsite Training Tab
  • If you attend an onsite training please bring a laptop.  If you do not have a district laptop, please submit an IT Work Order 48-hours prior to the training to have a laptop provided.

Franklin Pierce Schools featured on Classlink website

  • "Classlink streamlined access and gave teachers back valuable minutes of instructional time."  Liza Klumpar
  •  Classlink is the Single Sign-On vendor for DORA.

Securing your technology

Please keep these tips in mind:
  • It is the staff member's responsibility to take appropriate precautions to prevent damage to or loss/theft of their laptop, computer, tablet, or other technology equipment
  • Store technology equipment in a secure location such as a locking cart, cabinet or drawer
  • Store all student laptops in the laptop cart, plugged in and charging with the lock on the cart
  • Do not leave your technology in the car
  • Be careful with food and drink around your equipment.  Liquids are the number one enemy of electronic items

February 2019

Microsoft Office Suite Trainings

  • Are you interested in learning more about the Microsoft Office Suite?  
  • Information Technology (IT) is now offering training both online and onsite.
  • The training includes Excel, Word, Outlook, Publisher, PowerPoint and OneNote.
  • The next onsite training will cover Excel Intermediate and will be held on Thursday, February 7th at Washington High School Ridgeway Room.  Enroll today through the IT website / MS Office Suite Training / Onsite Training Tab.      
  • If you attend an onsite training please bring a laptop.  If you do not have a district laptop, please submit an IT Work Order 48-hours prior to the training to have a laptop provided. 

Microsoft OneDrive for staff

  • After much testing, IT is now starting to roll out the migration from H: Drive to OneDrive across the district for all staff.  
  • We are doing this a building at a time and have been able to automate the process.  
  • Currently, Information Technology, Maintenance, Support Services, Nutrition Services, and Keithley have been fully migrated to OneDrive.  
  • Please be on the lookout for emails on when your building will be migrating to OneDrive.

A few reminders about technology as we hit the mid-year mark:

  • Please do not move any stationary technology equipment – desktop computers, printers, phones.   If you need something moved to a new location, please open an IT work order and we will assist with the move.   When technology is moved we must ensure it is moved in a safe manner, network connectivity is maintained and power is available.
  • Remember to lock the mobile laptop carts when they are not in use or unattended.  
  • All laptops should be placed back in the cart at the end of the day plugged in, charging and the cart locked.

January 2019

OneDrive Automation Coming Soon

IT has been testing the automatic operation of OneDrive so that your computer will
  • Install the latest version of OneDrive, merging any previous versions so that you only have one
  • Automatically sign you into the OneDrive application
  • Start to sync your online OneDrive files with your PC OneDrive files
These efforts ensure greater accessibility and reliability to your files. Stay tuned for more information.

Microsoft Office Suite Trainings

  • IT will start offering Microsoft Office Suite trainings. 
  • Both online and in-person trainings will be available covering several software titles from the Microsoft Office Suite including, Excel, Word, Outlook, PowerPoint and OneNote.
  • Additional information will be available via the training page on the IT web-page.

Mid-Year Reminders

  • Help Desk:
    • Hours: Monday - Friday, 6:30 am - 4:00 pm
    • In-District Extension: 1234
    • There is no "Help Desk" email address
  • IT Work Orders
    • Did you know you can email your work order requests to itworkorder@fpschools.org

DORA - MyFiles

  • Did you know you can access your computer files from DORA?
  • Once you sign into DORA on the bottom of the page you will see two icons, My Apps and My Files
  • When you click on My Files a new window will open up so you can access your files.
  • The first time you access My Files, it is recommended to do at school.  
  • You will be able to see your District H Drive and other folders you have access to.  
  • If you are using OneDrive you will want to click on Manager Services and click on the Office365 Connect button.  
  • You will be asked to sign in using your district email, you will then be asked to give permission to ClassLink OneClick to access your OneDrive files, you will want to click Accept.  
  • Once you have signed in the first time you will be able to access your OneDrive and School Network files from anywhere.

2018

December 2018

Secure your technology during winter break

With the winter break fast approaching, please keep these tips in mind:
  • It is the staff member's responsibility to take appropriate precautions to prevent damage to or loss/theft of their laptop, computer, tablet, or other technology equipment
  • Store technology equipment in a secure location such as a locking cart, cabinet or drawer
  • Store all student laptops in the laptop cart, plugged in and charging with the lock on the cart
  • Do not leave your technology in the car
  • Be careful with food and drink around your equipment.  Liquids are the number one enemy of electronic items

New and Improved: OneDrive

  • We are testing a new update to Microsoft OneDrive. This update will be more reliable and will sync files quicker. 
  • OneDrive offers increased sharing, collaboration, and more space for everyone. Added to those benefits is that it is also much more cost effective than the older H: drive storage system.  
  • After further testing OneDrive will become the district’s default method for personal file storage and H: drives will be phased out. More updates will follow in the upcoming weeks.

November 2018

Locking the Mobile Laptop Carts

Please remember to lock the mobile laptop carts when they are not in use or unattended.  
All laptops should be placed back in the cart at the end of the day plugged in, charging and the cart locked.

How to have a strong password?

We all know it is important to have a strong password.  Here are some tips on what makes a strong password:
  1. Make your password long
  2. Try using a nonsense phrase
  3. Include numbers, symbols and upper and lowercase
  4. Do not reuse passwords
  5. Keep your password secret and change it regularly

Password Reset Tool

Don't forget all teachers now have the ability to reset and unlock student accounts at their school via the Password Reset Tool in DORA!
Reminders:
  • You can only reset students assigned to your school while you are connected to the district network.
  • Login is automatic from DORA
  • You can search by students name or ID number

The Importance of Restarting Your Computer

  • IT recommends that you restart your computer at least once a week while in the district so your computer is the most up to date.
  • To restart a computer you will go to the start menu, power, and select restart.
  • Shutting down a computer and restarting a computer are two different processes.
  • Restarting your computer signs out users, closes apps that are open, checks in for available updates, clears out old information.

September 2018

One to World!

  • Starting this year, elementary students will each be assigned their own laptop for the year.  
  • Over the summer, IT staff were able to deploy more than 6,500 student laptops in over 250 charging carts.   
  • In addition to the  1:1 roll out at the elementary level, Gates HS will also be 1:1.  
  • All other secondary schools received additional laptops and carts providing a laptop for every 1.3 students.

Help Desk - Phone Extension: 1234

Call us, we can help!
Hours: Monday-Friday from 6:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.

The goal of the help desk is to provide quick answers or solutions to smaller technology issues or questions.

Examples of help desk issues:
  • Password reset - account locked out
  • Setting a default printer
  • Shared drive access (H: drive, site share)
  • Shortcut creation
  • Program install / update
  • Please do not have students call the help desk line.  If you have a student who needs to have a password reset, we need to speak to a teacher.
If an issue cannot be resolved in a reasonable amount of time after the initial triage, a work order will be created and escalated to an on-site visit.

Moving Technology

  • As you are settling into your classrooms for the school year, please refrain from moving your phone, printer and any other related technology equipment.
  • Only IT Personnel are allowed to move district technology equipment.
  • If you would like to have technology moved within your classroom please submit an IT Work Order.  

Wireless Access

  • As a reminder, the guest WiFi access for individuals who are coming into the schools as a guest, such as a guest speaker.  
  • The district and guest WiFi are not to be used on employee's personal devices such as cell phones.  
  • If you have a guest speaker that needs WiFi access please speak with your Office Manager.

Password Reset tool for student accounts

  • We are excited to announce that in the coming weeks IT will be rolling out a student password reset tool to staff.  
  • This will allow teachers to reset their students Active Directory (computer) logins.  
  • Please be on the lookout for more information.

Student email

  • During the 2017-2018 school year, we rolled out student emails to grades 6-12.  
  • With the One to World deployment of student laptops in the elementary schools in the coming weeks, we will be rolling out emails to grades 3-5.  
  • Please be on the lookout for more information as we get closer to the launch.

April 2018

Access to your H: Drive from anywhere!

  • With all staff and students having access to DORA everyone now has access to their H: Drive folders anywhere they are.
  • After you log into DORA, there are two icons on the bottom of the page, My Apps and My Files, by clicking on My Files you will have access to your H: Drive along with other shared folders you have been granted access to.

Technology Purchases

  • IT is here to make your life easier and to make sure that all technology works with the current technology in our schools, and that we can support the hardware/software requirements.
  • IT must purchase all technology related items that in anyway get connected to, used with, or are dependent upon your computer, desk phone, projector, or other technology in your classroom/office.
  • If you would like to purchase some technology, please place an IT Work Order so we can review the items and assist in the purchasing.
  • If you have any questions, please call IT at x4647

SchoolMessenger App - Available Soon!

  • IT is in the process of rolling out the SchoolMessenger app.  
  • The app is a new feature that is included in the district’s current SchoolMessenger subscription.  
  • The app is for teacher-initiated messaging (TIM), which allows you to use the app to communicate with parents/guardians and students, individually or in groups, and to exchange files (such as permission slips, photos from field trips, etc.).  
  • We will be providing training and support in the coming weeks – be on the lookout!

Nightly Equipment Reminder

  • To ensure long equipment life and aide in the nightly automated IT maintenance, please do the following at the end of the day:
    • Disconnect from your wireless display
    • Power off computers
    • Turn off AV system and/or projector
  • If you need assistance with this, please call the help desk at 1234

March 2018

Email Best Practices Reminder

  • Always check the sender’s email address.  If you are unsure of the sender’s email address and/or its content contact IT Help Desk at ext. 1234 for further assistance.  Do not click the link or attachment.  
  • FPS Information Technology Department will not request user account information via email.  
  • Do not provide your user username, password or other personal information in response to an email.  This action will compromise your email account and our district’s Active Directory accounts and can potentially compromise our network security.  Emails that contain a malicious virus/Trojan can disable our network district-wide. 
  • FPS Information Technology staff will always have their email signature.  If you don’t see our signature, it didn’t come from our department.
  • If we need to get more details including the email content in question, we will contact you directly.
  • The latest phishing email is a good reminder to use your best judgment when receiving emails that are questionable.  Phishing email main purpose is to attempt to acquire sensitive information such as usernames, passwords, and sometimes credit card details by masquerading as a trustworthy entity.
  • A proactive approach is our best defense to these type of malicious emails.  

Help Desk

  • In the coming days, you will see a new icon on your desktop titled Help Desk, formerly IT Q Support.  This is a remote access tool that the techs can use to assist with troubleshooting when you call the Help Desk line.  
  • The Help Desk is open from 6:30 am to 3:30 pm during school days by calling 1234 from any district desk phone.  

Qmlativ

  • The first of the four focus groups (grading, registrar, attendance, behavior) will be meeting March 1st and 2nd.  
  • Additional focus groups will begin meeting to plan transition and training for the move to Qmlativ.  
  • The focus groups are made up of teachers, office staff, principals, department staff and district administrators.  
  • The committee members will help plan future training and serve as liaisons for their respective areas.

Wireless Display (WiDi) Visibility

  • In response to feedback regarding wireless display, we are have been making adjustments to improve the quality and reliability of wireless systems in your buildings.  
  • The changes include programming and configuration updates to district wifi as well as the WiDi receivers in every classroom.
  • If you have any trouble with your projector or wireless display, please call the Help Desk at ext. 1234 or put in an IT Work Order

Technology Advisory Committee

  • The next meeting will be on Wednesday, March 7th from 4:30 p.m. to 6:00 p.m. in the Franklin Pierce High School Corrigan Room.
  • All are welcome to attend.  
  • The Technology Advisory Committee (TAC) is made up of staff from around the district.  The TAC meets monthly to review the district's progress towards the adopted technology goals, provide input on technology initiatives and pilots, and act as an ambassador to promote the positive aspects of technology throughout the district.

February 2018

Student Email Expansion

  • We’re proud to announce that student email has expanded to grades 6-8. 
  • Student email will allow more collaboration among staff, students and access to additional instructional resources. 
  • With this expansion comes many of the Office 365 applications we as staff have come to love and use daily.
  • Access is available for students on or off campus, from any web-enabled device.

Skyward Upgrade Coming for 2019-2020 School Year

We are excited to share the upcoming changes to our Skyward system.  As many of you may remember the last time changes were made to Skyward was several years ago.  We are in the initial phases of planning for a complete overhaul of the Skyward software, database, servers, and security.   The new system will be called Qmlativ or “Q” for short.  Franklin Pierce Schools will change from Skyward to Qmlativ the 2019-20 school year. These changes intend to take advantage of the latest technology.  The updates to the system will, among other things, increase system performance, reduce steps to perform tasks, create more accessible data reporting and enhance data security.

Additional benefits:

  • User-Friendly Design (Live Tiles)
  • Professional Development Center
  • Custom personalization
  • Powerful Analytics
  • Flexible Architecture
  • Self-Service Support
  • Intelligent Search Capability

Several small committees will be created to address, plan and communicate changes to every section within Skyward.   These committees will be made up of district staff who will help identify areas to focus training and serve as a liaison to their respective area and communicate the changes and features.

Keep an eye out for additional details and training options. Also, we will post a monthly “Q” project status on our department webpage.


Canvas

Current statistics

  • 3,500+ students have logged into Canvas this school year into 860 courses.

New Feature Alert

  • A new feature in Canvas that we would like to highlight is the Quizzes.next.  
  • Teachers can create quizzes that include stimulus questions that model those found in the SBA testing.  
  • There are hotspot questions which have an image a student can click on, and the information is provided, these are like the hot text questions in the SBA tests.  
  • This is a great way to help prepare our students for the SBA testing.

Technology Advisory Committee (TAC) Meeting

  • The Technology Advisory Committee (TAC) is made up of staff from around the district.  The TAC meets monthly to review the district's progress towards the adopted technology goals, provide input on technology initiatives and pilots, and act as an ambassador to promote the positive aspects of technology throughout the district.
  • The next meeting will be on Wednesday, February 7th from 4:30 p.m. to 6:00 p.m. in the District Office Board Room.  All are welcome to attend.  

Instructional Laptops Reminders

  • Classrooms/Offices should be locked when you are not there.  
  • The laptop, tablet, or other technology equipment must be secured in a locked storage container at all times when unattended. 
  • If the laptop, tablet, or technology equipment is lost, stolen, or damaged due to negligence, intentional misconduct, or non-compliance with this agreement, on or off school property, you are responsible for replacement or repair costs.

January 2018

Technology Advisory Committee (TAC)

  • The Technology Advisory Committee (TAC) is made up of staff from around the district.  The TAC meets monthly to review the district’s progress towards the adopted technology goals, provide input on technology initiatives and pilots and act as an ambassador to promote the positive aspects of technology within their buildings.
  • The next meeting will be on Wednesday, January 10th from 4:30-6pm, in the Franklin Pierce High School Corrigan Room.  
  • All are welcome to attend.  

DORA Pilot for Students

  • Starting on January 16th IT and Teaching and Learning will be piloting DORA with a select group of K-12 classes.  
  • After evaluating feedback from the pilot groups, DORA will be available to all students.
  • DORA will be set as the Chrome web-browser home page for all student computers.
  • DORA for students will start with a limited number of apps with more apps being added over time.

Elementary Students will have access to:
•  Canvas        •  ThinkCentral        •  ConnectEd        •  Science Dimension

Secondary Students will have access to:
•  Canvas        •  Office 365        •  Grades Online        •  ConnectEd

2017

December 2017

Secure your device during winter break

Please keep these tips in mind:
  • It is the staff member's responsibility to take appropriate precautions to prevent damage to or loss/theft of their laptop computer, tablet, or other technology equipment  
  • Store technology equipment in the secure location such as a locking cart, cabinet or drawer
  • Do not leave your technology in the car
  • Be careful with food or drink around your equipment. Liquids are the number one enemy of electronic items.
  • Do not place anything heavy on the equipment.  The screen may be a liquid crystal display, and it doesn't take much to crack

Email Best Practices 

As a reminder, phishing emails are going around.  This type of phishing is to attempt to acquire sensitive information such as usernames, passwords, and sometimes credit card details by masquerading as a trustworthy entity.

A reminder from the Information Technology department regarding email best practices.  

  • FPS Information Technology Department will not request user account information via email.  
  • Do not provide your user account to anyone.  This action will compromise your email account and our district’s Active Directory accounts and can potentially compromise our network security.  Emails that contain a malicious virus/Trojan can disable our network district-wide. 
  • FPS Information Technology staff will always have their email signature.  If you don’t see our signature, it didn’t come from our department. 
  • Always check the sender’s email address.  If you are unsure of the sender’s email address and its content contact the IT Help Desk at 1234 for further assistance.
  • Do not click on attachments or links from unknown recipients.
  • Do not forward any emails that contain links to IT Department.  It is best to contact our department via phone at ext. 1234.    
  • If we need to get more details including the email content in question, we will contact you directly.

YouTube site open to students in grades 6-12

  • Students will now have access to YouTube resources within a safe learning environment.
  • As a reminder, students and staff will be filtered so that inappropriate videos, advertisements, and comments are blocked.

Software Center

  • Software Center is an exciting replacement for the older Software Library website many of you have used in the past.
  • The new Software Center is a friendly application installed on your staff computer which allows you to browse and install current district approved software. 
  • With Software Center staff can install approved software on-demand when you need it, all without needing IT assistance.

November 2017

Securing your technology!

  • Please do not leave your technology out and unattended.  We have had a couple of thefts lately and the best way to prevent this is for technology to be put away when not in use.  
  • If you are not in your room, your laptop needs to be locked up.  

DORA (District Online Resources and Applications)

For Staff
  • On November 3rd the IT department will be placing the DORA icon on all staff machines desktops.  This will be a direct link to DORA.
For Students
  • On January 3rd DORA will be available to all students.  Just like we have done with staff there will only be a few apps for students to start with.  
     
  • The Technology Advisory Committee (TAC) is working on prioritizing the apps that will be rolled out to students.

Student Emails for grades 9-12

  • After much work and anticipation we are ready to roll out student emails to grades 9-12.  
  • Students will be able to email each other as well as district staff only at this time.  
  • The use of student emails will open up some collaboration tools in Canvas and allow students the ability to access certain online Microsoft Office 365 applications such as Word, Excel and PowerPoint from anywhere.  
  • IT will be sending out more information about student emails in the coming weeks.

Standardized Web Browser

  • Starting November 6th, we will be moving our officially supported web browser to Chrome.
  • This is an effort to best support the many different web resources and online curriculum used by our district.
  • While you are still welcome to use your currently installed browser, we no longer will be actively deploying or supporting other browsers unless specifically required by a particular vendor.

October 2017

Skyward Downtimes for the 2017-2018 School Year

During the 2017-2018 school year, Skyward will be releasing major system updates which require the system to be unavailable between 12:00 AM and 9:00 PM.  
The dates for this school year are: 
  • Saturday, November 4, 2017
  • Saturday, March 3, 2018
  • Saturday, July 14, 2018

Technology Advisory Committee (TAC)

  • The Technology Advisory Committee (TAC) is made up of staff from around the district.  The TAC meets monthly to review the district’s progress towards the adopted technology goals, provide input on technology initiatives and pilots and act as an ambassador to promote the positive aspects of technology within their buildings.
  • The first meeting of the year will be on Wednesday, October 25th from 4:30-6pm, location TBD. Please check back here for the meeting location.  During this first meeting, we will be setting the schedule for the year.  All are welcome to attend.  

DORA (District Online Resources & Applications)

Here are some tips for when you are using DORA.
  • Time Out
    • After 15 minutes of inactivity in DORA, it will time out and take you back to the sign in page.  Any pages you have opened will remain open
  • Lock your computer
    • It is always important to lock your computer when you are not using your computer.  With DORA, it is even more important.  To lock your computer press control, alt and delete on your keyboard and select lock.  
Icons with a key in the corner  
The key indicates the apps that DORA will log you into automatically.  This is accomplished in one of two ways.
  1. The app is linked to our Active Directory and already knows your username and password (examples: Office360, Canvas, Atomic Learning)
  2. DORA will ask you to enter your username and password the first time you use it and then remember it for future use (examples: Skyward, EDS, AESOP)
 
DORA More Information Link
  • One of the options under DORA on the district website is DORA - More Info.  Here you will find some frequently asked questions along with very helpful 3 training videos.
Notifications
  • The next feature of DORA that we will be rolling out are notifications.  Starting on October 9th, you will start seeing notifications when you open DORA.  These may be a one-time message or they may be there for a few days.
DORA on your desktop
  • In the next few weeks, we will be placing a DORA icon on the desktop of your computer for quick access to the DORA portal.

September 2017

Learning Walls

  • Over the summer, Learning Walls at Ford Middle School and Franklin Pierce High School were installed.  The learning walls consist of a projection board; ceiling mounted LED projector, two rolling white boards, a presentation cart, an audio system including a lanyard microphone for the teacher and still to arrive a new HoverCam Ultra document camera.  
  • Information Technology would like to thank all of the staff for your patience as we worked on this project over the summer.  
  • If you are experiencing any issues with your learning wall, please call the Help Desk at 1234.
  • Up next will be Keithley Middle School and Washington High School!

DORA (District Online Resources and Applications)

  • DORA is a dashboard that will allow access resources and websites from a single location.  Additionally, DORA is a Single Sign On (SSO) portal, meaning that when clicking on links within DORA, you will not have to login again to the linked webpage (password manager).
  • DORA will be available to all district staff on Monday, September 18th.  At launch DORA will contain all of the links currently found on the “For Staff” dropdown on the district website.  Access to your h: drive will also be available through DORA in and out of the district network (h: drive access at home!).  More resources, webpages, applications and student access will be added throughout the year.
  • Please keep an eye on your email for a message about DORA later in September with more launch information and links to training videos.

Secondary Student Laptop Deployment

  • Over the summer IT continued to work on the 2:1 student laptop deployment.  
  • This summer was the secondary school's turn.  
  • A majority of the carts of 30 N23 student laptops have been delivered, with the remainder scheduled to be delivered shortly.  
  • The number of carts that are assigned to each school is based on their enrollment and the 2:1 ratio.  
  • If we have not already been to your school to do training on the new N23 student laptops, we will come to your school soon.

Wireless Display Upgrade 

  • Our district continues to improve on our Wireless Display technology.
  • This technology allows teachers and students to wirelessly connect and project screens with ease.
  • The latest generation adds improved ease of use, reliability, centralized monitoring capabilities and school or department logos on the screens.
  • Starting earlier this summer we began upgrading Wireless Display systems in Phase 1 and 2 Learning Wall schools’ classrooms and conference rooms. If we have not already been to your room for replacement,  we will be visiting soon.

Securing your Technology

  • With the start of the school year, we want to make sure to remind all staff, that all technology is being secured when you are not in the room.  
  • Please make sure that laptops are not being left unattended, they should be put away in a secure location.  
  • Also, make sure when you leave that you are not leaving your laptop in your car.

June 2017

Welcome Vince and Sean

  • Please help us welcome Vince Genna and Sean Atherton to the IT Team.  
  • Vince will be covering the following locations: Central Ave, Collins, and Harvard.  
  • Sean will be filling in while Ron is out and will be helping us out over the summer. 

Welcome DORA (District Online Resources and Applications) 

If you have not heard the district has selected ClassLink as the districts SSO portal and it now has a name! We are still on track to have the portal available to all staff and students at the beginning of the 2017-2018 school year. 


Windows 10

  • Windows 10 is now the district standard for all computers.  
  • For those of you who do not have Windows 10, we are currently working on an upgrade option that will allow you to upgrade at your own convenience, without turning in your computer or worrying about your files.  
  • There will be Windows 10 training material in Atomic Learning under FPSD Training & Resources starting on June 9th.  For more information, please visit the IT website to review the new Windows 10 FAQs.

10 Digit Dialing

  • Due to an area code overlay plan in Western Washington, local calls will be required to include the area code by the end of July. 
  • For example, calls to local cell phones where you could dial 8-405-9426 will now be dialed as 8-1-253-405-9426. 
  • It is best to start dialing with this new method immediately. Internal calls to the district can still be dialed by extension, for example 4647 for IT or 1234 for the IT Help Desk.
  • Please see the IT website for more information.

End-of-year Reminders 

The end of the school year is coming quickly. Here are some housekeeping reminders from Information Technology (IT):
  • If you are leaving the district, please return all technology including, but not limited to, laptops, tablets, HoverCam document cameras and cell phones (including power cables and accessories) to IT.  
  • If you have a desktop computer and/or external monitors, please submit a work order indicating that you will be leaving the district. 
  • If you are returning to the district next year, you may take your laptop/tablet home with you.  Just remember it is your responsibility per the Technology Acceptance Agreement that you signed. 
  • If you choose not to take your laptop/tablet home with you, please bring it to IT   for safe storage over the summer. 
  • Document cameras and projectors: Please leave them in the classroom and make sure that they are securely locked up. 
  • Classroom phones: The phone stays with the classroom; please do not unplug the phone or move it.  If you would like the phone in a different location for next year, please submit a detailed work order. 
  • If you have a district-issued cell phone but do not work during the summer please also turn in your cell phone to your building or department Office Manager for safe keeping over the summer. 
Frequently asked questions: 
Question:
Can I change where my desktop(s) are located in the classroom?
Answer: 
  • Please do not move them yourself.  
  • A work order needs to be submitted so that IT can move the computers, if feasible (dependent on power, network connection, and space).
Question:
I am changing classrooms/schools, what do I do with my technology? 

Answer:

  • You may take your laptop/tablet with you.  
  • All other equipment stays with the classroom
Questions:
I am changing classrooms/schools, what will my phone extension be? 
Answer: 
  • If you are staying in the same building, but you are moving to a different classroom, your phone extension will stay the same.  
  • IT will be working with the Office Managers on all room moves and will take care of switching the phone numbers to the new classroom.  
  • Please do not move the phone.  
  • If you are changing schools/locations completely, you will receive a new phone extension for that school/location.  Once again do not take your phone with you.
  • If you are returning equipment, the IT Office is located at 11807 24th Ave E.  
    • Until the end of school, we will be open from 7:30AM-4PM, Monday - Friday.  
    • Once summer starts, we will be open from 7:00AM-3:30PM, Monday - Friday.  
    • If you have any questions please call x4647.  
Have a great summer, and we look forward to seeing everyone during the 2017-2018 school year! 

Email Best Practices 

Lately, phishing emails are going around.  This type of phishing is to attempt to acquire sensitive information such as usernames, passwords, and sometimes credit card details by masquerading as a trustworthy entity.
A reminder from the Information Technology department regarding email best practices.    
  • FPS Information Technology Department will not request user account information via email.  
  • Do not provide your user account to anyone.  This action will compromise your email account and our district’s Active Directory accounts and can potentially compromise our network security.  Emails that contain a malicious virus/Trojan can disable our network district wide.   
  • FPS Information Technology staff will always have their email signature.  If you don’t see our signature, it didn’t come from our department. 
  • Always check for the sender’s email address.  If you are unsure of the sender’s email address and its content contact IT department at ext. 4647 for further assistance.   
  • Do not forward any emails that contain links to IT Department.  It is best to contact our department via phone at ext. 4647.    
  • If we need to get more details including the email content in question, we will contact you directly.

Microsoft Outlook Clutter

What is clutter: A new email feature that keeps track of what emails you read and which ones you ignore.  Over time it will move emails you're likely to ignore into the clutter folder.

Can clutter be turned off: Yes
  1. Sign into the web version of Outlook.
  2. Click on "mail."
  3. On the navigation bar go to Settings  > Options > Mail > Automatic processing > Clutter.
  4. Change the setting to "Don't Separate Items identified as Clutter" and click "Save." 

June TAC Meeting  

  • Your last chance to attend a TAC meeting this school year is June 7th!  The Technology Advisory Committee (TAC) is made up of staff from around the district.  
  • The TAC meets monthly to review the district’s progress towards the adopted technology goals, provide input on technology initiatives and pilots and act as an ambassador to promote the positive aspects of technology within their buildings. The next meeting will be on Wednesday, June 7th from 4:30-6PM in the District Office Board Room.  
  • All are welcome to attend.  

June Staff Technical Training

  • With the end of school so near, we will not be holding a Staff Technical Training in June.  We hope to resume next school year.

May 2017

IT Staffing

Thank you everyone for your patience in recent weeks.  We have been short 2 Information Technology Support Specialists.  Interviews for the open position are in progress and we hope to have a new team member in a few weeks.
From August 1, 2016 until April 25, 2017 the IT Team have received 7,763 work orders and have closed 7,700.  Some of the work orders that have been closed during this time were opened prior to the August 1, 2016 date.

Canvas

  • Want to save some time grading papers and assignments?   
    • Use the SpeedGrader tool in Canvas! 
  • Canvas now contains almost 18,000 files from district classes and 23 new Canvas classes have be started in the past month.  

If you have any questions about getting started contact Brad Pierce at jpierce@fpschools.org 


Staff Technical Training - Family Access Message Center

  • This training will be geared specifically for Office Managers, Elementary Office Assistants, Registrars and Building Admin
  • Tuesday, May 9th, from 8:00 a.m. - 8:30 a.m. and 3:00 p.m. - 3:30 p.m. in the C-View Room located at the District Office - 315 129th Street South
  • Thursday, May 11th, from 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 a.m. and 3:00 p.m. - 3:30 p.m. in the Conference Room at Support Services - 11807 24th Avenue East
  • Everyone is invited to attend these 30-minute training sessions on Skyward basics.  Bring your questions on everything from accessing your time off records to how to take attendance. 
  • There is no need to sign up for the training. Just come with your questions and ready to learn!
  • More information can be found on the IT website under upcoming events.

June TAC Meeting 

  • The Technology Advisory Committee (TAC) is made up of staff from around the district.  The TAC meets monthly to review the district’s progress towards the adopted technology goals, provide input on technology initiatives and pilots and act as an ambassador to promote the positive aspects of technology within their buildings.
  • The next meeting will be on Wednesday, June 7th from 4:30-6pm in the District Office Board Room.  All are welcome to attend.  

Single Sign-On (SSO)

  • ClassLink has been selected as the district SSO portal.  
  • We are in the early stages of setup and testing.  
  • The TAC and administrators will get the chance to put ClassLink through its paces this Spring.  
  • We are on track to have the ClassLink portal available to all staff and students at the beginning of next school year. 

April 2017

Single Sign-On

  • Over the past few months we have been researching options for a single sign-on portal.
  • A single sign-on (SSO) portal will allow staff and students to login to a single webpage with their current computer username/password and have a dashboard with access to district approved programs and systems all in one place and without the need to sign in to each program again.  
  • We are excited to be able to provide this resource for you.  Be on the lookout for more information in the coming weeks.

SPED Computers

  • With the recent deployment of student laptops to elementary schools, we are now in the process of deploying laptops to the SPED Resource Centers, and touch screen desktops to the SPED Support Centers.
  • IT is currently working with LSS, principals and the teachers on the schedule and placement of the computers.  If your school has not received replacements yet, we will be there shortly.

Securing your technology over Spring Break

  • It is the staff member's responsibility to take appropriate precautions to prevent damage or loss/theft of their laptop, tablet, and other technology equipment.  
  • Store technology equipment in a secure storage cart/learning wall cabinet and ensure that the storage is locked.
  • Do not leave your technology equipment sitting in a car.
  • Be mindful of food or drink around your equipment. 
  • Do not place anything heavy on the equipment.  The screen can be easily cracked/damaged. 

Thank you!

  • All of us here in the IT Department would like to thank everyone for all the notes, cookies, fruit, pizza and kind words we received last week.   
  • We are grateful to be able to support such a great district and staff. 

Canvas

  • If you have not already logged into Canvas, go to https://fpschools.instructure.com and use the same username and password you use to sign onto your computer.  
  • Staff will automatically see all their assigned classes with their full rosters, while students will only see the classes that they are currently enrolled in.
  • Currently there are over 1,200 students and 100 teachers active in 355 FPSD Canvas courses.
  • If you have any questions about getting started contact Brad Pierce at jpierce@fpschools.org 

Call us, we can help!

  • Hours: Monday-Friday from 7:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
  • Phone Extension: 1234
  • The goal of the help desk is to provide quick answers or solutions to smaller technology issues or questions.
  • Examples of help desk issues:
    • Password reset - account locked out
    • Setting a default printer
    • Shared drive access (H: drive, site share)
    • Shortcut creation
    • Program install / update
  • If an issue cannot be resolved in a reasonable amount of time after the initial triage, a work order will be created and escalated to an on-site visit.

Skyward Password Resets

  • If you need to reset your Skyward password, you can do so on your own.  
  • On the Skyward login page, just below the Sign In button, there is a Forgot your Login/Password link.
  • For those who have a district-issued email, an email will be sent to your fpschools.org email.  
  • If you do not have a district-issued email, the email will go to the email that you have provided HR.

Staff Technical Training

  • The next set of trainings will be May 9th and 11th.  (With Spring Break the second week of April we will not be hosting technical trainings in the month of April).
  • Technical trainings are on a different topic/program each month and are an open time for staff to come and ask their questions.  There is no set agenda; we have staff available who can answer your questions. 
  • If you have a topic/program you would like to see covered please email Bianca Ibarra atbibarra@fpschools.org

TAC – Technology Advisory Committee

  • The Technology Advisory Committee (TAC) is made up of staff from around the district.  
  • The TAC meets monthly to review the district’s progress towards the adopted technology goals, provide input on technology initiatives and pilots and act as an ambassador to promote the positive aspects of technology within their buildings.
  • The next meeting will be on Wednesday, April 26th from 4:30-6pm in the District Office Board Room.  All are welcome to attend. 

SBAC Prep

  • We are dedicated to making sure that all of the computers and systems are ready for the upcoming testing season.  
  • Our techs are busy double checking and prepping for the demands of testing.  
  • If you have a computer or lab that you would like IT to look at please put in a work order.  
  • Historically our district technology has had great success during testing and we expect similar results this year. 

2016

November 2016

Announcements from Information Technology

What's next with Windows 10?
  • Windows 10 will be coming soon to all staff computers.
  • There will be a self-service option.
  • More information about Windows 10 can be found on Atomic Learning.
  • Information will be posted soon on the IT website.  

November Technical Training Available to All Staff

  • Technical trainings will be held the second week of each month and will be offered on two different days from 8-8:30 a.m. and 3-3:30 p.m.  
  • Keep an eye on the IT website for dates. 
  • November's topic will be quick troubleshooting techniques.  Topics that will be covered will include addressing trouble with your speakers, changing your view on Powerpoint, WiDi best practices, clutter, and more.

WiDi Reminder

  • Connecting to WiDi: Make sure the screen/TV says "Ready to Connect" prior to trying to connect your laptop. 
  • Disconnecting from WiDi: You must disconnect from the WiDi first and then turn off the computer.  
  • Training this November will focus on how to use your WiDi effectively. 

Information Technology Help Desk

  • Information Technology will be rolling out a help desk line in the coming weeks to help answer quick questions/needs.
  • More information about the help desk will be sent out in the coming weeks.

Microsoft Outlook Clutter

What is clutter: A new email feature that keeps track of what emails you read and which ones you ignore.  Over time it will move emails you're likely to ignore into the clutter folder.

Can clutter be turned off: Yes. 

  1. Sign into the web version of Outlook.
  2. Click on "mail."
  3. On the navigation bar go to Settings  > Options > Mail > Automatic processing > Clutter.
  4. Change the setting to "Don't Separate Items identified as Clutter" and click "Save."

Welcome, Kevin!

  • Please help us welcome our newest Information Technology Support Specialist, Kevin Zulauf!
  • Kevin will be supporting Brookdale, GATES/New Pathways, Ford, and Transportation.

October 2016

Coming Soon...Technical Training for All Staff

  • In the coming weeks, IT will be rolling out a new technical training series.
  • The trainings will cover topics including, but not limited to, Outlook, Microsoft Office Suite, and learning walls.
  • These will be monthly 30-minute sessions that will be open for all to attend.  
  • Please keep an eye on the IT Department web page and calendar for the dates and times of the trainings.
  • If you have suggestions on topics you would like to see covered please email Bianca Ibarra at bibarra@fpschools.org 

A Reminder About Canvas

  • Did you know that Canvas does a nightly update of all of your class rosters?  
  • No need to add and drop students from your classes, just log in and you will see all of your students for the class.  
  • There is no need to build/maintain your own rosters.

IT Work Orders 

  • In order to be able to assist all staff and students effectively and efficiently, we ask that you please utilize the IT Work Order system.  
  • By entering a work order, not only do you have a way to track the progress and but we are able to make sure that everyone's concerns and needs are met in a timely manner.  
  • To log into the work order system, go to the district website, For Staff, and then click on IT Work Order.
  • You will use the same username and password you use to sign into your computer.

September 2016

Did you know we have a Technology Hardware/Software Approval Process?

  • A list of already approved software and technology is on the district website under Information Technology, Technology Software/Hardware Resources. 
  • The list also lets you know if you can download the software from the Software Library or if an IT work order is needed for the installation.
  • If you want to use software or technology that is not on the list, you need to submit a Technology Software / Hardware approval form before using/purchasing the software/website/technology. 
  • Did you know you can download the approved software?
  • The software library is accessed by using your computer login. 
  • Once you sign in you will want to select User Console Library and then search for the program you are looking to install and follow the prompts. 
  • Most programs install in the background. 
  • There are currently over 100 programs in the software library.

June 2016

End-of-year Reminders

The end of the school year is coming quickly. Here are some housekeeping reminders from Information Technology (IT):
  • If you are leaving the district, please return all technology including, but not limited to, laptops, tablets and cell phones (including power cables and accessories) to IT no later than Friday, June 24, 2016.  If you have a desktop computer and/or external monitors, please submit a work order indicating that you will be leaving the district.
  • If you are returning to the district next year, you may take your laptop/tablet home with you.  Just remember it is your responsibility per the Technology Acceptance Agreement that you signed.
  • If you choose not to take your laptop/tablet home with you, please bring it to IT for safe storage over the summer.
  • Document cameras and projectors: Please leave them in the classroom and make sure that they are securely locked up.
  • Classroom phones: The phone stays with the classroom; please do not unplug the phone or move it.  If you would like the phone in a different location for next year, please submit a detailed work order.
  • If you have a district-issued cell phone but do not work during the summer, please also turn in your cell phone to your building or department Office Manager for safe keeping over the summer.
Frequently asked questions:
Q: Can I change where my desktop(s) are located in the classroom? A: Please do not move them yourself.  A work order needs to be submitted so that IT can move the computer, if feasible (dependent on power, network connection, and space).
Q: I am changing classrooms/schools, what do I do with my technology? A: You may take your laptop/tablet with you.  All other equipment stays with the classroom. 
Q: I am changing classrooms/schools, what will my phone extension be? A: If you are staying in the same building, but you are moving to a different classroom, your phone extension will stay the same.  IT will be working with the Office Managers on all room moves and will take care of switching the phone numbers to the new classroom.  Please do not move the phone. 
 
  • If you are returning equipment, the IT Office is located at 11807 24th Ave E. 
  • Until the end of school, we will be open from 7:30am-4pm, Monday - Friday. 
  • Once summer starts, we will be open from 7am-3:30pm, Monday - Friday. 
  • If you have any questions please call x4647. 

Have a great summer and we look forward to seeing everyone during the 2016-2017 school year!

May 2016

Canvas FAQs    

What is Canvas?
  • Canvas is a Learning Management System (LMS).  The main objective is communication (teacher-to-student, teacher-to-parent, student-to-student and staff-to-staff).  
What can I use canvas for?
  • A repository for your syllabus
  • Calendars
  • Instructional content
  • Files/documents 
  • Sharing of links to outside content
  • Chat/discussion pages
  • Create assignments and quizzes
  • Collaborations
  • Lesson plan idea banks
Who can benefit from using Canvas?
  • Everyone! Staff, Teachers, Students, and Parents!
"Canvas has been a life changer for me as a learner, teacher, and member of a professional community!  As a teacher, I am able to create interactive, dynamic lessons that involve 21st century skills of appropriate technology use.  As a learner and part of my professional community, the ease and accessibility of content through Canvas fits my busy schedule while still allowing me to be  an active part of a learning community.  I feel so lucky to have Canvas as a power tool in my toolbox!" 
~Rosita Castellano, GATES High School Dean of Students/Administrative Intern
"My 3rd grade students have been using Canvas in very simple ways.  They are answering a question from text in the core reading program as well as watching (and re-watching) videos and responding to them, which helps with their ELA speaking & listening goals.  I see a huge benefit in Canvas for my students as they are developing strategies for reading text and responding in writing on the computer all while becoming increasingly comfortable with technology."  
~Sally Wheeler, 3rd grade teacher at Midland Elementary.
How do I log in?
  • From the district website, click on For Staff, Canvas and log in with your Active Directory (computer) login.
  •  An import is run nightly from Skyward into Canvas to update class rosters.
How do students log in?
  • From the district website, students will click on For Student, Canvas and log in with their Active Directory (computer) login.  
  • Students will only be able to see the classes that they are enrolled in.
Where can I find more information?
  • Linda DiGiorgi from Teaching & Learning will be offering trainings in May.  
  • Once she has the details she will be uploading the dates to the ProDev system.
Questions?
  • If you have any further questions, please contact Lindsey Smith, Information Technology Office Manager at lismith@fpschools.org or x4647.  
  • You can also enter an IT Work Order.

Coming soon to a computer near you: Windows 10! 

  • Information Technology will be asking for 71 staff volunteers this summer to upgrade their machines to the Windows 10.  
  • More information on how to volunteer will be coming soon! 

April 2016

Technology Purchases   

  • Are those items you want to purchase right now technology related?  Is the items in anyway connected to, used with, or dependent upon your computer, desk phone, projector, or other technology in your office/classroom? 
  • If the answer is yes, please stop and place an IT Work Order!
  • We are here to make your life easier and to make sure that the new technology you want will work with your current technology, and that we can support the hardware/software. 
  • Before you purchase, please place an IT Work Order. 
  • If you have any questions, please call IT at x4647.

Moving Technology  

  • Don't forget that if you want to move computers, phones, printers, or other technology in your classroom/office, you must place an IT Work Order. 
  • IT needs to make sure that the location you are wanting to move it to will work and that everything is connected correctly.  
  • Simply plugging a cable into the wrong location can take down the network for your office/classroom, building, or even the whole school.  

March 2016

Did you know you can check on the status of your IT Work Order? 

Once you log into the work order system, you can see the status of any work orders that you have entered. To do this, follow these steps:

  1. Once you have logged in, click on "Requests."
  2. Then click on the work order of which you want to check status.
  3. You will be able to see the technician assigned to the work order and the "due by date."
  4. You can add a note to an existing work order. Click on "Actions" > "Add Notes" > Add in the message to the technician and check "Email this note to the technician > "Add Note".

Canvas Update 

  • As of the end of February, we had 119 courses, 52 teachers, and 779 students/staff using Canvas across the district. Have you always wanted a class website?
  • Check out Canvas!
  • To log in, you will use your Active Directory login (same one with which you use to sign into your computer).
  • Students are auto-loaded into teachers' classes; there is no need to add students or give them a passcode.
    • Students sign-in the same way, by using their username (their Student ID number) and their password (their birthday in mmddyyyy format).
  • The links to Canvas can be found on the District website under "For Staff" and "For Student."

January 2016

Securing Your Technology

  • Throughout the year, and especially during holidays, please keep these tips in mind:
  • Please care for your laptop/tablet and refer to the Instructional Laptop Liability Form for care and security.
  • Store technology equipment in the secure storage cart/Learning Wall cabinet and ensure that the storage is locked.
  • Make sure that technology is not left in unattended vehicles.

2015

December 2015

Guest Wi-Fi 

  • Guest Wi-Fi access is available for guests that need internet access; it is not intended for students or staff use. The Guest Wi-Fi is available during business hours only.
  • To acquire access to Guest Wi-Fi after regular business hours, please submit an IT Work Order with ample notice so we can set that up for you. 
  • For your guest to access the Wi-Fi, they will connect to the FPSD-Guest network.
  • Once the guest connects, they will open their web browser and a portal page will appear asking for a username and password. You can acquire the username and password from your office manager.

Securing Your Technology 

  • Throughout the year, and especially during holidays, please keep these tips in mind:
  • Please care for your laptop/tablet and refer to the Instructional Laptop Liability Form for care and security.
  • Store technology equipment in the secure storage cart/Learning Wall cabinet and ensure that the storage is locked.
  • Make sure that technology is not left in unattended vehicles.

November 2015

2015-2016 Technology Advisory Committee 

We are pleased to announce that Franklin Pierce Schools is reconvening the Technology Advisory Committee for its third year to provide structure for expert and novice users of technology to discuss optimizing technology integration in our schools. This group will continue to focus on steering our district technology efforts to meet the diverse needs of teachers and students to positively impact teaching and learning.
This advisory work can best be accomplished by a group that represents perspectives from a wide range of grade bands/levels, content areas, teaching roles, departments, and schools.
Membership on this committee is voluntary, meeting monthly after the regular work day.
If you are interested in participating on this committee, please discuss your interest with your principal or district department head. You'll then need to complete the Participant Interest form, and send it to Lindsey Smith, IT Office Manager by Friday, October 30. Please reach out to Lindsey Smith for the Participant Interest form. Interested parties will be informed of their membership on the team by November 3.
Our first meeting is scheduled on Wednesday, November 18, 4:30 p.m. to 6:00 p.m. at a location to be determined.
Thank you for considering participating with us in this work!
Liza Klumpar Linda DiGiorgi
Director Instructional Technology Specialist
Information Technology Teaching and Learning

Welcome new IT staff 

  • IT would like to welcome our new Network Systems Specialist, Seth Seastrum, and our new Data Systems Specialist/Technical Trainer, Bianca Ibarra! 
  • Seth comes from a military background and has been quickly adapting and learning our district's systems. He will be supporting the following schools: Central Avenue, Collins, Ford, Franklin Pierce HS, Elmhurst, Harvard, Midland, NSRC, and Transportation.

Canvas Learning Management System (LMS)

  • The Canvas LMS pilot is off to a great start with 50+ active courses from 31 teachers and 570 students. Several buildings and departments, including LSS, Gates, and Christensen have also begun using Canvas for file sharing and team collaboration.
  • If you are interested in learning more about Canvas, please contact Information Technology at extension 4647 or by emailing Lindsey Smith.

September 2015

Canvas Pilot Launch

  • Canvas is a Learning Management System (LMS).
  • The main objective for Canvas is communication (teacher to student, teacher to parent, and student to student). We will be pre-loading the teachers' classes and roster into Canvas so that each class has its own page.
  • Teachers will be able to load their syllabus, instructional content, files, documents, links to outside content, create chat and discussion pages, create assignments and quizzes that can be completed online, as well as a class calendar.
  • We also hope to use Canvas as a staff resource (i.e. - create Canvas pages for staff to staff communication, collaboration groups, trainings, grade level teams, etc.).
  • On Friday, September 4, a group of staff from across the district will be attending a training where they will learn how to use the program.
  • The goal is that these staff members will then be able to go back to their schools/departments to train others. More information about Canvas and when you are able to start using it will be sent out in the coming weeks.

Do you need to move technology? 

  • If you need to have a piece of technology moved (e.g. - phone, computers, etc.) please place an IT Work Order. Please DO NOT move your technology.
  • Moving technology can cause disruption to both the service to your technology as well as to your entire school. 

Technical Issues? 

  • The way that Information Technology can prioritize our work and make sure that all issues are resolved as quickly as possible is through our work order system. If you are having a technical issue, please submit a detailed Work Order.
  • If you can include screen shots of error messages that helps us out. Bringing technology to the Information Technology office is not recommended as our technicians are out in the field and there may not be anyone in the office to assist you.