315 129th Street South, Tacoma, WA 98444 | (253) 298-3000

Students Experiencing Homelessness

How can McKinney Vento help you?
  • Enroll and attend in school immediately, even if you lack documents normally required for enrollment
  • Enroll in the school closest to you or the school you were last enrolled in (school of origin), even if you have been forced to relocate
  • Receive transportation to and from your school of origin
  • Participate in before and after school programs
  • Receive counseling
  • Receive free breakfast and lunch
  • Receive school supplies
This is not an exhaustive list, funds are available to help eliminate barriers and promote academic success. Ask your School Liaison/Counselor for additional information.
Who qualifies for McKinney Vento?
Children and youth:
  • Sharing housing due to loss of housing, economic hardship or a similar reason
  • Living in motels, hotels, trailer parks, or camp grounds
  • Living in emergency or transitional shelters
  • Abandoned in hospitals
  • Living in cars, parks, public spaces, abandoned buildings, substandard housing, bus or train stations
  • Migratory children and youth living in any of the above situations
How to get started:
Complete the online form below, or contact your School Liaison, Counselor or District Liaison for additional assistance.
 

McKinney Vento Liaisons

Early Learning/Elementary

Early Learning Center
Melissa McPheeters (Headstart and ECEAP)
(253) 298-4693 | mmcpheeters@fpschools.org
 
Tami McLean (Title 1 and SPED)
(253) 298-4675 | tmclean@fpschools.org
 
Brookdale
Cindy Yant
(253) 298-3105 | cyant@fpschools.org
 
Central Avenue
Lynn Ausley
(253) 298-3205 | lausley@fpschools.org
 
Christensen
April Hibbard
(253) 298-3305 | ahibbard@fpschools.org
 
Collins
Erica Kropilak
(253) 298-3405 | ekropilak@fpschools.org
 
Elmhurst
Chelsea Williamson
(253) 298-3505 | cwilliamson@fpschools.org
 
Harvard
Lindsay Kotulan
(253) 298-4105 | lkotulan@fpschools.org
 
James Sales
Linda Morrison
(253) 298-4205 | limorrison@fpschools.org
 
Midland
Melissa Cadero
(253) 298-4505 | mcadero@fpschools.org

Middle School

Ford
Sok Chhouy
(253) 298-3613 | schhouy@fpschools.org
 
Keithley
Jennifer Davis
(253) 298-4307 | jdavis@fpschools.org

High School

Franklin Pierce
Sabine Fintak
(253) 298-3977 | sfintak@fpschools.org
 
Washington
Bonnie Wiklund
(253) 298-4713 | bwiklund@fpschools.org
 
GATES
Kristina Levendoski
(253) 298-4051 | klevendoski@fpschools.org

District/State

FPS District
Claudia Miller
(253) 298-3036 | clmiller@fpschools.org
 
Washington State McKinney Vento Program Supervisor
Melinda Dyer
(360) 725-6505 | homelessed@k12.wa.us