30 students recognized with Elizabeth Wesley youth merit awards

Students celebrated as Elizabeth Wesley Youth Merit Incentive award winners
Posted on 09/29/2014
E Wesley Scholarship RecipientsThe Elizabeth Wesley Youth Merit Incentive Award Program has been awarding monetary incentives to African-American youth in Tacoma-Pierce County since 1996. In the 19 years since the program’s inception, community members and local businesses have invested more than $700,000 in youth development.

The award ceremony -- held in Lakewood on Sept. 20 -- began with several speeches, including one from keynote speaker and Tacoma City Mayor, Marilyn Strickland. Shortly following the Mayor’s speech, 9th, 10th and 11th grade award recipients proudly marched up on stage, stating their name, school and what career they intended to have someday.

Thirty students from Franklin Pierce Schools were recognized this year with an Youth Merit Incentive award of $350.00. In Addition, Comcast Corp. awarded five Comcast Technology scholarships to students in Pierce County, each ranging from $500.00 to $1,000.00. Of the five scholarships provided, two were given to students of Franklin Pierce Schools: Amoje' A. Moody of Franklin Pierce High School and Sharon J. Washington of Washington High School.

This year's Youth Merit Incentive Awards went to:

Washington High School
Katherine A. Burgess
Raja D. Drah
Nevan T. Gamboa
Rimaujhia D. Greenlee
Azurae A. Hargrave
Keyonjanae E. Henderson
Quintarious Landry
Faith B. Miller
Gennesis A. Morris
Kiarra A. Quick
Jessica A. Rice
Naomi L. Smith
Tyra C. Cavalier
Alexis M. Dixon
Jessica E. Grant
Samaria H. Hargrave
DeVante A. Lee
Nehemiah D. Woodley
Joseph M. Kelley
Zacchaeus Miller
Sharon J. Washington
Da'vid M. Williams

Franklin Pierce High School
Keyanna M. Hughes
Armani L. Jackson
Ariell R. McCain
Tarisa M. Ross
Antavea C. Green
Aushenae R. Matthews
Tashanique R. Mitchell
Amoje' A. Moody