Students celebrated as Elizabeth Wesley Youth Merit Incentive Award winners

Students celebrated as Elizabeth Wesley Youth Merit Incentive Award winners
Posted on 09/20/2015
WHS Wesley WinnersThe Elizabeth Wesley Youth Merit Incentive Award Program has been awarding monetary incentives to African-American youth in Tacoma-Pierce County since 1996. In the 20 years since the program’s inception, community members and local businesses have invested more than one million dollars in youth development.

The award ceremony -- held in Lakewood on Sept. 19 -- began with several speeches, including one from keynote speaker and KIRO-TV co-anchor, Angela Russell. Shortly following her speech, 9th, 10th and 11th grade award recipients proudly marched up on stage, stating their name, school and what career they intended to have someday.

Thirty-seven students from Franklin Pierce Schools were recognized this year with an Youth Merit Incentive award of $350.00. In addition, Washington High School students Tyra Cavalier and Alexis Dixon won scholarships in the amounts of $1,000 and $2,500, respectively.

This year's Youth Merit Incentive Awards went to:

Washington High School
Amiah N. Ames
Christina M. Ayers
Lexie J. Brewster-Simmons
Katherine Burgess
Startasia Cavalier
Tyra C. Cavalier
Alexis M. Dixon
Raja D. Drah
Samuel Freeman
Nevan T. Gamboa
Jessica E. Gantt
Rimaujhia D. Greenlee
Azurae A. Hargrave
Sierra A. Hartfield
Savannah R. Hauestein
Keyonjanae E. Henderson
Danaijah I. Herrera
Clairiss A. Johnson
DeVante A. Lee
Victoria A. Manibusan
Krystal A. Nelson
Bright Owusu Adjei
Kiarra A. Quick 
Alexis K. Reese
Jessica A. Rice
Ja'Omani L. Scott

Franklin Pierce High School
Ghane F. Buze
Malcolm A. Clay
Rebekah L. Collins
Victoria L. Gibson
Armani L. Jackson
Annalycia D. Matthews
Aushenae R. Matthews
Wesley C. Mba
Ariell R. McCain
Záujanae T. Ponton
Tarisa M. Ross

(Photo Credit: John Carr)